Appointment and Compensation

Appointment

The Chair is chosen based on merit. Their initial term lasts three to five years. Later terms can last up to five years.

Vice Chairs and members are responsible for fairly and efficiently deciding appeals assigned to them by the Chair. The Vice Chair(s) may fulfill some duties of the Chair, at the request of the Chair or where the Chair cannot complete their duties.

Cabinet appoints members and Vice Chairs to initial terms of two to four years, and may appoint them to subsequent terms lasting up to five years. These appointments are made after consultation with the Chair.

The board is supported by the Environmental Appeal Board staff and Chair, which also provides leadership for eight review/appeal bodies. They are responsible for administrative, human resources, and information technology/management for this group of review/appeal bodies.

Compensation

Pay for members, including the Chair, is set by Cabinet. The rates are specified in British Columbia's <u>Treasury Board Directive 1/24</u>, based on how it classifies the Board. The Board is in the second out of five categories.

Compensation of members for the 2024/2025 fiscal year are as follows:

Part-Time Appointees				
Chair	Compensation		Vice Chair	Compensation
Lynn McBride	\$15,440		Steve Perks	\$5,148
Member	Compensation		Member	Compensation
Karen Ameyaw	\$0		Tajdin Mitha	\$2,014
Shelene Christie	\$273		Cindy Page	\$534
Harry Gray	\$0		Donald Storch	\$525
Richard Margetts, KC	\$0			
Total Remuneration (Part-Time Appointees)				\$23,934